Jack Klein, N9LIA recipient of 2014 Ham of the Year Award


Klein, N9LIA (left) accepts the Ham of the Year award from club president Michael Martens, KB9VBR.

Jack Klein, N9LIA was recognized as Ham of the Year at the Wisconsin Valley Radio Association’s annual banquet on Saturday March 21, 2015. The Ham of the Year Award recognizes fellow club members that have provided service to the club and amateur radio community in the past year. Klein was nominated by fellow club members for his participation in various club events including the Badger State Games, Wausau Marathon, Halloween Patrol, Field Day, and license instruction classes.

The HOTY award is open to all WVRA members and may be granted on an annual basis. The EAR is a lifetime acheivement award, open to any eligible amateur radio operator.

Excellence in Amateur Radio Winners

WVRA-EAR-Award-20142002 – Reno Goetsch W9NA
2003 – Lewis Sheerar, K9JPS
2004 – Herb Bloedel W9GAA
2006 – Michael Wild KB9DED
2007 – Rich Maier KC9NW
2008 – Len Kreyer N9QIP
2009 – Gerald Graebel W9GLG
2010 – Dennis Shawl W9PBB
2011 – Robert Slane W9BVX
2013 – Don Michalski, W9IXG

Ham of the Year Winners

WVRA-HOTY-Award-20142005 – Dennis Shawl W9PBB
2006 – Mark Rasmussen N9MEA
2007 – Matt Baumann N9NMH
2008 – Gerald Graebel W9GLG
2009 – Travis Augustine W9HDG
2010 – Dan Sharpee KB9RXA
2011 – Kim Baumann KC9LFH
2012 – Roger Branton K9RGB
2013 – Michael Martens, KB9VBR
2014 – Jack Klein, N9LIA