This year in addition to our popular weekend review technician class‚ the Wisconsin Valley Radio Association will offer a more comprehensive six week class. The options are as follows:
1) Attend a free six-week course offered by the Wisconsin Valley Radio Association (WVRA). The course will meet on Thursday evenings from 6 – 7:30 in the State Highway Patrol Headquarters. The first night of class is February 6th; the last night of class is March 12th. This class is designed for people who have little or no background with electronics, physics, or the propagation of radio frequency. It will also be helpful for people who don’t like to pack a lot of studying into a short amount of time.
2) Attend a free weekend review session offered by the WVRA on the weekend of the exam. This review session will run from 9 am until about 4 pm on Saturday the 14th of March and will continue on Sunday the 15th from 9 am until test registration begins at about noon. This session will also take place in the State Highway Patrol Headquarters.
3) Attend both the six-week course and the weekend review session. The six-week course is designed to work with the weekend review, but you don’t have to attend both sessions.
4) Study on your own. The ARRL (American Radio Relay League) offers a variety of good study materials online and for purchase in print format, if you’re interested in studying on your own. You can check out their website – arrl.org – for details
Technician License Class
Thursdays 6:00pm – 7:30pm February 6th – March 12‚ 2020
Review session Saturday March 14 9:00am – 4:00pm & Sunday March 15 9:00am – noon
Wisconsin State Patrol HQ – Wausau
2805 Martin Rd, Wausau, WI 54401
Basic amateur radio Operation – Emergency Communications
Antenna Theory – Digital modes – Electronics
Contests – Worldwide communications & more!
All class materials geared towards passing FCC mandated Technician class license exam
Topics Covered in the class
Radio waves, signals
Modulation and bandwidth
Electricity, Ohm’s Law, power, metric system
Electronic components & circuits
Basic Station Equipment
Power Sources & Interference
Communicating with other hams
Call signs and operating regulations
Amateur Radio License Exam Session
The exam is scheduled for Sunday March 15th, with registration to begin at noon. We’ll hold the exam in the State Highway Patrol Headquarters at 2805 Martin Ave, Wausau, WI. All license class exams will be offered.
Exam cost – $15 (cash or check) Class Cost – FREE
Test requirements – Photo ID (minors can use birth certificate, social security card or other government issued ID when accompanied by parent/guardian), previous CSCE (if you have taken the test and are upgrading), $15 (cash or check).
Exam administered by Amateur Radio Relay League (ARRL) accredited volunteer examiners in accordance with Federal Communication Commission (FCC) guidelines. Cost for exam cover expenses for filing license with FCC.
For questions, please use the Contact Form or email Lori at firstname.lastname@example.org
Register for the Technician License Class:
Frequently Asked Questions
The class will follow the ARRL curriculum for the technician class license. We recommend the ARRL Ham Radio License Guide which is available from www.arrl.org or from any major book retailer. You may also use the Gordon West series of study materials or the following online sources (free):
- www.arrl.org (please check this site out!)
- Hamstudy.org sample exams
- KB9NU No-Nonsense Study Guides
- Dave Casler technician class videos on YouTube
- Android/iPhone apps (go to your app store and search for “Ham Radio Study Apps”)
- Whatever method you choose, please take the time to go through
- it and find a ham and ask questions!
What should you bring?
- See previous page for exam requirements
- notebook/pencil/etc for notes
- Basic calculator is allowed for exam (no phones or programmable
calculators are allowed for the exam)
I’m a Scout and I would like to get a merit badge for this!
- GOOD! We will have several individuals who can serve as merit badge counselors. This class and test are part of the requirements!
How much does ham radio cost?
- Most new hams get their first dual band handheld radio for under $50. From there the sky’s the limit. It really depends on what part of ham radio you get into. All instructors can help point you in the right direction to find equipment.
Do I need to learn Morse Code?
- No. The FCC removed the CW (Morse code) requirement about 15 years ago. You do not need to know it to get ANY class of radio license. However, with your technician class license, you get HF Frequency privileges immediately for CW operation that normally would only be available for phone operation with a General class or Amateur Extra class license. So, if you want to get on HF right away, we help you learn Morse code after you get your license!