WVRA Ham of the Year and Excellence in Amateur Radio Awards

It’s time, once again, for the Wisconsin Valley Radio Association members to nominate individuals for the annual Ham of the Year (HOTY) and lifetime Excellence in Amateur Radio (EAR) awards. The HOTY award is open to all WVRA members and may be granted on an annual basis. The EAR is a lifetime acheivement award, open to any eligible amateur radio operator.

The nomination period runs from December 1st, 2015 – January 5th, 2016. Nomination forms and instruction sheets are available on the WVRA Awards Info Page.

After the nomination process, the awards committee will vett the nominations and prepare a ballot. Club members will vote on the candidates and the winners will be announced at the annual club banquet in March.

Excellence in Amateur Radio Winners

2002 – Reno Goetsch W9NA
2003 – Lewis Sheerar, K9JPS
2004 – Herb Bloedel W9GAA
2006 – Michael Wild KB9DED
2007 – Rich Maier KC9NW
2008 – Len Kreyer N9QIP
2009 – Gerald Graebel W9GLG
2010 – Dennis Shawl W9PBB
2011 – Robert Slane W9BVX
2013 – Don Michalski W9IXG

Ham of the Year Winners

2005 – Dennis Shawl W9PBB
2006 – Mark Rasmussen N9MEA
2007 – Matt Baumann N9NMH
2008 – Gerald Graebel W9GLG
2009 – Travis Augustine W9HDG
2010 – Dan Sharpee KB9RXA
2011 – Kim Baumann KC9LFH
2012 – Roger Branton K9RGB
2013 – Michael Martens KB9VBR
2014 – Jack Klein N9LIA